Providing Personalized Attention And Skilled Legal Representation

Missouri’s concealed carry laws: What you need to know

On Behalf of | Feb 28, 2024 | Criminal Defense

In 2017, Missouri allowed individuals to carry concealed firearms without a permit. However, Missouri law enforcement can still issue concealed carry permits to gun owners traveling to other states requiring them.

While the state no longer requires concealed carry permits within its jurisdiction, there are still places where gun owners can’t bring their firearms, whether they have a permit or not.

Prohibited places for concealed firearms

According to state law, it’s illegal to bring a firearm to the following locations:

  • Law enforcement facilities: Any police, sheriff, or highway patrol office is off-limits.
  • Correctional facilities: Bringing a firearm into a jail or prison can result in serious charges.
  • Courthouses: Carrying a concealed weapon in any court is a direct violation of Missouri law.
  • Voting precincts: Polling places don’t allow firearms on election days.
  • Educational institutions: Schools and universities have strict no-firearm policies to ensure student safety.
  • Child care facilities: Unless the gun owner has the consent of the child care facility’s manager, it’s illegal to bring a concealed firearm.
  • Airports: Secure areas beyond the TSA checkpoints are firearm-free zones.
  • Bars: Carrying a concealed weapon in any establishment that serves alcohol can lead to charges.
  • Private property: Property owners can set their own rules regarding firearms on their premises.

Other locations where it’s illegal to bring concealed firearms include amusement parks, hospitals and sports arenas. But possession of a firearm in a vehicle on the premises of these locations isn’t illegal as long as the weapon isn’t removed.

Anyone who violates the law by carrying a concealed weapon to these places can face punishment.

The penalties for concealed carry violations

Carrying a concealed weapon to these locations isn’t immediately a criminal act, but the location staff may deny the person entry. If the person refuses to leave despite the presence of a peace officer, the person may be issued a citation for up to $100 for a first offense.

If the person commits a second violation within six months, an officer can cite them for up to $200 in fines and suspend their concealed carry permit (if applicable) for a year.

If a third citation for the same violation is issued within one year of the first violation, the person must pay up to $500 in fines, and their permit (if applicable) is revoked. The person will also be ineligible to apply for a new permit for three years.

If a person brings a concealed unloaded firearm on school property, it becomes a Class A misdemeanor criminal offense punishable by up to a year of imprisonment and $2,000 in fines. If it’s a loaded concealed firearm, however, it instead becomes a Class E felony, punishable by up to four years of imprisonment and $10,000 in fines.

Missouri may be a “permitless” state, but it’s still strict about where gun owners can and can’t bring their concealed firearms. If you face charges for violating gun carry laws, remember that you don’t have to face them alone. A legal professional can advise and guide you on your case during your hearing.